Maine has a graduated drivers licensing system for new drivers who are under the age of 18, as well as restrictions for drivers under the age of 21. The law is intended to allow Maine's young people to gain valuable driving experience under lower risk conditions.
Applicants must be at least 15 years of age and successfully complete the written exam. Applicants must submit the application, fee, two forms of identification, proof of residency, driver education completion certificate (if under the age of 18), and a birth certificate (if under the age of 23) to the BMV. A vision test is also required. You may take a vision test when you appear for your written exam or you may have a doctor provide fill out the eye form.
Once the application is processed, the BMV will schedule the applicant for the written test (if you did not complete it as part of your driver education course) or issue a permit.
The permit allows the individual to operate a vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a valid license for two years.
The learner's permit expires after two years. Permits are not renewable, but additional two-year permits can be issued.
To apply for your driver's license:
- must be at least 16 years of age
- must complete a driver education course (if under the age of 18)
- must hold the permit for six months before applying for a road test (if under the age of 21)
- must log 70 hours of driving and 10 of the hours must be done after dark (if under the age of 21)
- is prohibited from using a cellular phone while operating with a permit
- must successfully complete a road test
If a permit expires, the person must take an exam for a new permit, but will not be required to wait before applying for a road test.
The first license issued to a new applicant who under the age of 21 is a juvenile provisional license. The provisional license is in effect for a full 2-year period as long as the first license that was issued occurred prior to the 21st birthday. The provisional phase does not end when a person turns 21. If you are a juvenile provisional license holder and are within the first two years of your license, a conviction for any moving violation will result in the suspensions listed below. Additionally, if you are convicted of operating under the influence prior to reaching 21 years of age, your license will be viewed as a juvenile provisional license for law enforcement purposes, even if you have already held the license for two years.
If you are over the age of 21, the provisional license period is one year. During the provisional license period, a conviction for any moving violation, will result in license suspension.